top of page

Honma Meiko Fanart

Spotting in an app a quote saying "Count your life not by years, but by friends," I stopped to reflect. Gosh it's true. How can you say that the life given to you is too short, when in that limited time you were able to prove that it was meaningful? Such a beautiful quote.


"I want to spend more time with all of you."
Straw hats

Hi, welcome to a page of my sketchpad!

I have more time right now regarding school, compared to the previous weeks, so I finished another artwork aside from the one yesterday! To be honest, I actually drew Menma's sketch much earlier than Onodera's, but I finished Onodera's piece first because... of my whim? I guess this is a talk about my whims again. Anyways, yeah Onodera's page is after Menma's in my real material sketchpad. I think I was just more excited in coloring and outlining Onodera's piece as compared to Menma's.


I'm most proud of

the outline. I'm still just readjusting to my ink outline phase, so the nervousness from failure seems very vivid right now. But if I were to choose from Menma's and Onodera's outlines, I like the thickness of Menma's more. For the difference, it's because I used another pen, which is my Mame's beautiful signpen. Sorry Mame. Anyways, another of the details I'm proud of is the coloring. To me, the blue ribbon looks like it was colored with markers, but in reality it was just my usual color pencils. I'm also satisfied with the combination of dark and light colors for the skin, which I didn't expect. I was problematic on how to color the shadows of the dress, because I didn't want to simply slap some gray color on there. I'm so glad experimenting paid off, using a shade of blue and red that I don't think I can replicate anymore. I did the same experiment on the shadows of Menma's hair, just with a different shade of blue, and I think it turned out well too!


I'm not happy about

the color of the eyes. Even while working on it, I have no idea how to color the eyes so I just winged it however. Plus, there’s this fact that my fanart of Menma doesn’t look like Menma. When my sister was scrolling through my artworks, she remarked that she didn’t know the character of this piece. I was confused because I knew she had already watched Anohana, so I asked again if she did. To be honest, I was hurt when I realized she just didn’t recognize Menma in my drawing. I pulled through in drawing and coloring her dress but the face is just... I don’t know about the feelings of other artists, but to me, hearing “Hindi kamukha,” from others is really a huge blow on me. I don’t know, maybe I’m just overreacting, but deep down I really get hurt by those words.


In the middle of coloring this piece, I swear, I really laughed at myself so hard. I mentioned this earlier that I experimented on the color shades of the shadows of Menma’s hair and clothes, right? After doing so on the hair, I had not a single idea on how to color the rest of the hair, the ones without shadows. I don’t usually color shadows before the main layers, so I’ve been trying and trying and trying on a scratch various color combinations, so I won’t regret rubbing an unfamiliar idea on my piece. Guess what? I didn’t need to experiment at all smh. I was so close to giving up so I tried only the gray color pencil, no experiments no combinations, and IT WORKED HAHAHAHAH. Oh my god what happened to me. Ayos pa naman ako.



profile picture (1).jpg

Hi, Yuuki here!

I hope you like my artworks. I am an aspiring left-handed traditional artist, with a major obsession in anime.

Click "Read More" for more details about me.

Let the pages
come to you,

on every flip.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2021 by Jane Caringal of 8-St. Jerome. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page