top of page

Rapunzel as Anime Girl

Disney stories are like every little kid's dream come true. My favorite Disney stories getting an anime version is my own dream come true. I tried this artwork with that in mind, so what do you think?


"Standing here it's all so clear, I'm where I'm meant to be!"
Straw hats

Hi, welcome to a page of my sketchpad!

Boredom got to me once again, so here I am with another drawing. Are you a bookworm? Omg! I'm not too! But if you bring up the topic of Japanese manga's, that's a different case hehe. Actually, this artwork is a redraw of an unfinished sketch I made when I was younger, which I'll show you later in the post.


I'm most proud of

how I drew and colored the hair, because to me it looks so pretty and I like the slight thickness it shows the the top of Rapunzel's head. In addition to that, I like how her sleeves look like there's volume in it, since I've never been confident about shadows in my coloring ever. Also! One of my most favorite parts in this artwork is the outcome of colors of the books. I enjoyed so much in experimenting various colored pencils to achieve a shade that I can't easily find in traditional art materials.


I'm not happy about

the coloring of Rapunzel's lower part of dress. I don't feel satisfied with both the main violet layer and the shadows. Oh, and the eyelashes aren't supposed to be that thick, I was just kind of forced to because the cheap pen I used for outlining gave me an ugly curve, so I tried to fix by hiding it, and that's the result. To add, the jawline seems a little too straight? Or is it just me? Lastly, well I'm not particularly frustrated about this or anything, but my big brother remarked that Rapunzel's hand seemed too big. And, I agree with him lol. However, aside from the size, I think it's one of the best-looking hands I've drawn all my life, so I can't bring myself to hate that part of this artwork.


Overall, I think it looks pretty decent. Do you like Rapunzel? I do, a lot! I relate a lot to her desire to experience the outside world, from the tower confining her from doing so. Sounds familiar? Mhm, that’s just like our quarantine days. Being in my own tower for almost a whole year suffocates me so much that I just wonder how was Rapunzel able to endure the curiosity for years. Well, the “danger” referred to by the the mother-witch seems clearer right now—of course, as Covid-19. I just hope this ends soon. Stay safe always!




profile picture (1).jpg

Hi, Yuuki here!

I hope you like my artworks. I am an aspiring left-handed traditional artist, with a major obsession in anime.

Click "Read More" for more details about me.

Let the pages
come to you,

on every flip.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2021 by Jane Caringal of 8-St. Jerome. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page