top of page

Honda Tooru Fanart

As you might notice, the date in today's page is the same on written on my previous post (Hua Mulan as Anime Girl). Actually, I did finish Tooru's fanart yesterday, but it was almost nighttime. I couldn't get any nice lighting, so I decided to just take a picture and post this the next day.


"So when mom told me, 'It's okay,' I was so relieved. When she told me, 'There's nothing to be ashamed of,' I was so relieved, that I started crying again."
Straw hats

Hi, welcome to a page of my sketchpad!

At first I was skeptical when my Kuya suggested Fruites Basket to me. It's because I'm not fond of righteous, airheaded female main characters in shoujo genres. But as they say, "Don't judge a book by its cover," and guess what, Tooru's so lovableeee! There's never a time where I felt annoyed or bored with her. Almost every night I keep on saying "Gusto ko na mag-April!" because Season 3 will start then, and I can watch Fruits Basket again. Truly, I want April to come sooner.


I'm most proud of

the drawing and coloring of Tooru's hair. It's not much similar to the real appearance, but I think it looks good enough if seen by itself. I'm also satisfied with the shadows of her uniform. My previous experiments proved useful, because I'm able to confidently use the color blue and red for a shade of gray. Lastly, I find the background flowers very cute. They're originally there for covering up the dirty parts caused by the cheap eraser I'm using. I had so much fun coloring those flowers, and in the end I think it added more life to the overall color appearance.


I'm not happy about

the drawing of Tooru's eyes. I'm satisfied with the coloring, but I wasn't able to make them look more like the original. If it's my own invented character design, I'd accept this appearance. However, I'm making a drawing of an existing character, so I'd want my fanart to look like her. What do you think though?


Aside from Fruits Basket, I'm also hyped about the anime of Jujutsu Kaisen. The difference is that it's been on ongoing release since last year. I've been influenced by Kuya Dale, we influenced Kuya Joshua together, and now Ate Jazelle's likely to indulge to watching it as well. Fun fact: she's not fond of gore animes (though she watches Attack on Titan for the plot.) That's just how interesting JJK is <3. Oh, congrats to them btw, for winning Anime of the Year Award presented by Crunchyroll! So deserving tsk tsk. Anyways, the character there named Kugisaki Nobara is the first ever female character I simped on, so I'm thinking of drawing her next. Or maybe Maki? Or MIwa-chan? Aghhhh there's too many to stan, I can't decide T^T.



profile picture (1).jpg

Hi, Yuuki here!

I hope you like my artworks. I am an aspiring left-handed traditional artist, with a major obsession in anime.

Click "Read More" for more details about me.

Let the pages
come to you,

on every flip.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2021 by Jane Caringal of 8-St. Jerome. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page